Early Years

Learn more about our Early Years section

Early Years Curriculum

Our commitment: to provide the children with an all-round education, balanced with fun and care.

This stage is pre-National Curriculum and is called the Early Years. This is based on four main themes:

  • A Unique Child: all children are valued and respected.
  • Positive Relationships: children learn best from secure relationships and it is essential that there is a two-way culture of communication between parents and staff.
  • Enabling Environment: we work hard to ensure that the whole environment, including the outdoors, is accessible and attractive to the children.
  • Learning and Development: emphasis is placed on children learning through play, with a good balance of child-led and adult-led activities.

The programme is divided into seven areas of learning, providing a framework for the Early Years Curriculum, working towards early learning goals. The seven areas of learning are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (Prime Area)
  • Physical Development (Prime Area)
  • Communication, Language and Literacy (Prime Area)
  • Literacy (Specific Area)
  • Mathematics (Specific Area)
  • Understanding  the World (Specific Area)
  • Expressive Arts and Design (Specific Area)

The curriculum has been carefully planned so that children achieve these goals.

Arrange a visit to our school!